Pay Your Bill OnlineSignup for Operation RoundUp
About IEC
Who We Are
Office Locations
Board of Trustees
Member Meetings
2007 Annual Meeting
2006 Annual Report
Employment Opportunities
IEC History
IEC Bylaws
The Lamp - Our Publication
Press Releases
System News
Cooperative Information
What is a Cooperative?
Capital Credits
Oklahoma Electric Cooperatives
Cooperative Quick Facts
Industry Information
Oklahoma Association of Electric Cooperatives
Oklahoma Living Magazine
National Rural Electric Cooperative Association
Customer Service
Home > Annual Meeting

August 26, 2010
Cleveland High School Event Center
Cleveland, Oklahoma

The 71st Annual Meeting of Members of Indian Electric Cooperative, Inc. was held at the Cleveland High School Event Center on Thursday, August 26, 2010. At approximately 7:00 p.m., Board President Dr. Greg Fielding called the meeting to order. Mr. Fielding introduced George Weston of the Christian Church in Fairfax, who delivered the invocation. Bob Ellis and members of the Cleveland American Legion Post #3 were introduced and led a salute to the Flag of the United States. Ed Turley, joined by the audience, sang the National Anthem. Mr. Fielding turned the chair over to Board Vice-President Wanda Foster and Trustee Robert Burk, who conducted prize drawings.

Mr. Fielding informed the members that Berry Keeler, Secretary-Treasurer of the Board of Trustees, would serve as Secretary of the Annual Meeting. Secretary Keeler informed the membership that the Cooperative currently has 12,957 members and the Bylaws require that five percent, or 648, of the members must register their attendance in order to constitute a quorum and have a legal meeting. He reported that 1014 had registered and declared a quorum in attendance.

A true copy of the official Notice of the Annual Meeting of Members for 2010 was mailed to all members in accordance with the Bylaws of the Cooperative. The Bylaws further state minutes of the previous Annual Meeting of Members will be read. Motion was duly made and seconded to dispense with the reading of the minutes and to approve them as written. Motion carried. Mr. Keeler turned the meeting to Corporate Counsel Ron Barber for district meeting election results and bylaw amendment voting.

Mr. Barber explained the results of the previously held elections for Districts 1, 2 and 3 which resulted in incumbents, Berry Keeler (District 1), Jim Hadlock (District 2) and Loris Peckenpaugh (District 3), were each unopposed and thus reelected as Trustees for their respective districts for the next three years.

Mr. Barber next conducted voting on recommended amendments to the IEC bylaws. Mr. Barber presented a summary of the recommended bylaw amendments and stated that the changes are intended to make the voting process at IEC meetings more accessible to members which should allow more IEC members to participate in the democratic process of governing IEC. Motion was made to approve the IEC bylaw amendments as presented, was seconded and passed. Mr. Barber turned the chair over to District 7 Trustee, Mike Spradling.

Mr. Spradling introduced honored guests and visiting Cooperative representatives. He further introduced Corporate Counsel, all members of the Board of Trustees and the Board of Trustees for the IEC Foundation, Inc., Operation RoundUp® Program. Mr. Spradling turned the chair over to Chris Cariker, Executive Vice-President and CEO of KAMO Power. Mr. Cariker commented on issues relating to potential carbon dioxide taxation (more commonly known as cap and trade legislation) and the impacts this legislation could have on IEC members. Mr. Cariker returned the chair to Wanda Foster and Mike Spradling who conducted more prize drawings. Mr. Spradling and Mrs. Foster conducted the grand prize drawing for one Ford F150 pick-up truck.

There being no further business, the 2010 Annual Meeting of Members adjourned.